Authentication Certificate Turn-Around Times
Due to resource shortages, effective February 1, 2024 we are revising the drop/off and pick up times for documents presented for Authentication as follows:
If you do not have an appointment the turn-around time is 30-45 business days.
If you have an appointment, turn around is as follows:
Up to 20 documents – 24 hours
20-35 documents – 74 hours
36+ documents – up to 21 days
There is no change for Funeral Home requests for authentication.
Beneficial Ownership Information Reporting
The federal Corporate Transparency Act (“CTA”) establishes a new beneficial ownership reporting requirement for limited liability companies, corporations, and other similar entities formed or registered to do business in the United States. Beneficial ownership reports must be filed with the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN), a bureau within the U.S. Department of Treasury. For more information on the beneficial ownership information requirements. The North Carolina Secretary of State does not administer and has no responsibility for enforcing the CTA or the beneficial ownership information reporting program.
The NC Secretary of State’s Office has been made aware of deceptive mailings and emails from North Carolina Certified Document Services targeting businesses. The company is charging fees of $499.89 to assist in the filing of company annual reports. Click here for more information
Don’t Fall for Impostors posing as the NC Department of the Secretary of State. The NC Secretary of State’s Office has received a report of individuals misrepresenting themselves as the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State to lure loan-seekers to pay an up-front fee. Neither the Secretary of State’s Office nor any other agency will require individuals to pay taxes on a loan before the loan money can be released. Please report anyone making such offers to the NC Attorney General’s Office (https://www.ncdoj.gov/consumer.aspx) at 1-877-5-NO-SCAM.