Skip Navigation


Notary Changes NOTARY CHANGES: With the signing of House Bill 776 into law, Emergency Video Notarization is restored until 6/30/2023 when a new Remote Online Notarization program is implemented.

NEW FEES: 1. For acknowledgments, jurats, verifications, or proofs the new fee is $10 per principal signature. 2. For oaths or affirmations without a signature, the fee is $10 per person, except for the identity of a principal or subscribing witness. 3. For an electronic notarization under G.S. 10B-188, the fee is $15 (E-Notarizations). 4. The new Remote Online Notary fee will be $25 per principal position when RON becomes effective in July of 2023.


Athlete Agent Registration Office

What We Do

The Athlete Agent Registration Office is responsible for the administration of the North Carolina Uniform Athlete Agents Act (NCUAAA). Unless exempted, NCUAAA requires any individual acting as an athlete agent in North Carolina to register with this office. The Athlete Agent Registration Office is available to:

  • Respond to inquiries about registration requirements
  • Provide information to the public about registered agents
  • Investigate concerns or complaints about individuals or entities that may be acting in violation of North Carolina law
  • Provide information about the regulation of athlete agents

Please note that office personnel may not provide legal advice or counsel to the public.

Notice Regarding Criminal Convictions for Athlete Agent applicants

  1. The Secretary of State does not require applicants for registration to submit to a criminal background check as part of the registration process. The Secretary of State does, in certain cases, run reports on applicants that disclose criminal convictions. The application forms require that an applicant disclose any convictions for a felony or crime involving moral turpitude.
  2. The Secretary of State considers criminal convictions. Before the Secretary of State denies an applicant a registration due to a criminal conviction, it will consider the factors listed in N.C.G.S. § 93B-8.1(b1).
  3. If the Secretary of State denies an applicant a registration, in whole or in part because of a criminal conviction, the applicant may appeal pursuant to Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes. See also Chapter 78C of the North Carolina General Statutes.

Contact Athlete Agent Registration Office


919-814-5500 or 800-688-4507

Mailing Address

Athlete Agent Registration Office
NC Secretary of State
Post Office Box 29622
Raleigh, North Carolina 27626-0622

Physical Address

Athlete Agent Registration Office
NC Secretary of State
2 South Salisbury Street
Raleigh, North Carolina 27601-2903
How can we make this page better for you?

Request Support

Request support or submit a suggestion, we will get back to you via email or phone.

Get Started
Back to top