North Carolina Board of Podiatry Examiners
The Board of Podiatry Examiners for the State of North Carolina (NCBPE) was established by North Carolina General Statute (90-202.2 to 90-202.14) as North Carolina's licensing and registry board for the profession of podiatry.
Tracy Steadman firstname.lastname@example.org
Executive Secretary & State Agency Liaison
919-861-5583, ext. 1221
Procedures, Laws and Guidelines
Below is a summary of the procedures, laws and guidelines to obtain a professional business entity license through the NC Board of Podiatry Examiners.
PLEASE REFER TO THE BOARD’S WEBSITE FOR EXPLANATIONS OF TYPES OF LICENSES AND OTHER PERTINENT INFORMATION.
Bookmark the link to the NC Board of Podiatry Examiners for your future reference.
Procedure to Create a Professional Business Entity
Step 1 Articles of Incorporation/Organization
- Download and complete the appropriate business entity creation document from the Forms link on the Business Registration Division website.
Step 2 Application to Board of Podiatry Examiners
Download and complete the appropriate application at
- Corporate name which must include a corporate ending as required by GS §55D-20 or 55B-5. For limited liability companies, the complete name must be provided and must include the word “Professional” or the abbreviation “P.L.L.C.” or “ PLLC“ as required by GS §57D-2-02(v).
- Specific services to be rendered by the corporation or LLC.
- Mailing address of corporation or LLC, including telephone number and e-mail address if appropriate.
- Physical address(es) where business will be conducted. Include telephone number and e-mail address.
- For Professional Corporations, provide the name, address and license number of each incorporator, the Board of Directors, and the corporate officers. Include percent of shares owned by stockholders.
- For Limited Liability Companies, provide the name, address and license number of each Owner, Director and Member.
- Provide the name, address, professional affiliation, duties and license number (if applicable) of individuals not otherwise identified, who are employed, or to be employed, in a professional capacity by the corporation/organization.
Signatures: Each incorporator/organizer must sign before submitting the application to the N.C. Board of Podiatry Examiners.
Step 3: Receipt of Certificates of Registration - Submission to the Secretary of State
Submit application with the required fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) along with a
copy of the Articles of Incorporation/Organization to:
1500 Sunday Drive, Ste. 102
Raleigh, NC 27607-5151
- Please allow for a week plus mailing time to process your application.
- An original Certificate of Registration will be returned along with a Certificate to the applicant to be used for filing with the Secretary of State’s office along with the Articles of Incorporation/Organization.
Step 4: Renewal of Certificate of Registration
In accordance with NCGS §55B and 57C, A Certificate of Registration must be renewed annually with the Board. All Certificates expire on 12/31 of each year. Renewals are mailed out in October for renewal no later than January 31.
- Renewal requires submission of a renewal application reflecting current information. Renewal applications should be submitted along with the renewal fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each practice location. If changes have been made to the owners/shareholders/members or to the Articles of Incorporation/Organization, an updated copy must be attached.
- Renewals sent after January 31 are required by law to include a ten dollar ($10.00) late fee.
- It is the responsibility of the corporation or limited liability company to notify the Board of any address, phone, fax or e-mail changes throughout the year.
Step 5: Changing your Corporate Name or other Changes
The Board and Secretary of State’s Business Registration Division both must be notified of any changes to the Corporate name, shareholders, Articles of Incorporation/Organization, or other status.
Step 6: Dissolving your Professional Corporation or Limited Liability Company
Written notice shall be provided to the Board within 30 days of dissolving the Professional entity along with a copy of the Articles of Dissolution.
North Carolina Statutes - Secretary of State
- Chapter 55B
- Chapter 55D
- Chapter 57D-2-02
North Carolina Statutes - Podiatrists
North Carolina Administrative Code
- 18 NCAC 04 .0318 - Authorization of Foreign Professional Corporations
- 18 NCAC 04 .0502 - Words Prohibited in Addition to Statutory Prohibitions
- 18 NCAC 04 .0503 - Deceptively Similar and Distinguishable Names
- 18 NCAC 04 .0504 - Filing Fictitious or Assumed Name for Foreign Entity
NC Board of Podiatry Examiners
- 21 NCAC 52 .0301 - REGISTRATION
- 21 NCAC 52 .0303 - PENALTIES
- 21 NCAC 52 .0302 - ANNUAL RENEWAL
- 21 NCAC 52 .0611 - FORMS AND APPLICATIONS