

Notes of Explanation

Organizational Chart of North Carolina State Government

- **1** The North Carolina General Assembly is divided into two chambers the Senate with 50 members and the House of Representatives with 120. The Lieutenant Governor is presiding officer of the Senate.
- **2** Legislators are appointed to one or more committees within their respective chambers by the presiding officers of their chambers.
- **3** The President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House serve on the Legislative Services and Legislative Research Commission. They also appoint five members each from their respective chambers to serve on the Legislative Research Commission and four each to serve on the Legislative Services Commission. The Legislative Services Officer is appointed by the Legislative Services Commission and provides administrative support to the legislators.
- **4** The Governor and the other nine elected officials of the Executive Branch form the Council of State. The heads of other executive departments, "secretaries," are appointed by the Governor and serve at the pleasure of the Governor.
- **5** The State Board of Education has 13 members, with 11 of those members being appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly in joint session. The Lieutenant Governor and State Treasurer are ex *officio* members. The Superintendent of Public Instruction is the head of the Department of Public Instruction and is elected by the citizens of North Carolina.
- **6** The State Board of Community Colleges is not part of the Governor's Cabinet, but ten members of the State Board are appointed by the Governor, and the NC House and Senate each appoint four members. The Lieutenant Governor and State Treasurer are *ex officio* members. The State President of the Community College System is elected by the State Board and serves as the head of the department.

- **7** The State Board of Elections is an autonomous agency in charge of the administration of elections, and campaign finance.
- **8** The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court designates one of the Judges of the Court of Appeals as Chief Judge. The Chief Justice also designates one of the District Court Judges in each district as Chief District Court Judge.
- **9** The Administrative Office of the Courts provides administrative and research assistance to all levels of the Judicial System. The Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts is appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.
- **10** District Attorneys serve as prosecuting officers at both the Superior and District Court levels. The Clerks of Court in each county also serve both courts.
- **11** Magistrates, one or more in each county, are appointed for two-year terms by the Senior Resident Superior Court Judge in each district and serve under the Supervision of the Chief District Court Judge in their respective districts.
- **12** While not a part of the Legislative Branch, for purposes of this chart the UNC System Board of Governors is listed under the legislative section because it consists of 32 members elected by the General Assembly. The Board of Governors also includes special members, including the president of the UNC Association of Student Governments, former board chairs and former state governors.

5,000 copies of this public document were printed at a cost of \$528 or \$0.105 per copy.