
NOTE: $50,000 in contribution or less.
E-Postcards, 990-N are accepted as proof of financial history. (Effective September 14, 2023)


	1.
	Charitable/Sponsor organization’s legal name: 	

	2.
	Charitable/Sponsor organization’s principal mailing address:
	
	
	
	

	
3.
	
Charitable/Sponsor organization’s principal telephone:
	
	
	
	

	
4.
	
Charitable/Sponsor organization’s e-mail address:
	
	
	
	

	
5.
	
Name(s) under which you intend to solicit contributions (if different from legal name):
	
	

	
6.
	
Purpose for which applying entity was established:
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	

	
7.
	
Charitable/Sponsor organization’s fiscal year end month:
	
	
	
	

	
8.
	
Does applying entity compensate (in any capacity):
	
	
	
	

	8a.
	An Officer?		
	YES 	
	NO
	
	

	8b.
	A Trustee/Board Member?		
	YES 	
	NO
	
	

	8c.
	An Organizer or Incorporator?
	YES
	NO
	
	

	
8d.
	

A Salaried Employee that occupies a seat on the board?
	
	
YES
	
	
NO

	
9.
	
Does applying entity currently contract for compensation or plan to contract for compensation during the current registration year with a Fund-Raising Consultant or Solicitor?
	
	
	

	
	
	YES
	
	NO

	
	

If applying entity answered YES to ANY part of the above questions 8 or 9, applicant does not qualify for an exemption to the North Carolina charitable solicitation licensing requirements under N.C. Gen. Stat.§ 131F-3(3). Applicant must either apply for a license or a separate exemption. License application forms and a copy of the laws governing charitable solicitation are available on this Department’s website at www.sosnc.gov.

	
	If applying entity answered NO to ALL parts of question 8 or 9, proceed to the next question.
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If applying entity received $50,000 or more in charitable contributions (as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 131F-2(5)) in any calendar year, applicant will NOT qualify for an exemption to the North Carolina charitable solicitation licensing requirements under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 131F-3(3) and must apply for a license. License application forms and a copy of the laws governing charitable solicitation are available on this Department’s website at www.sosnc.gov..
NOTE: 131F-2(5) Contribution is defined as including a promise, pledge, grant of any money or property, financial assistance, or any other thing of value in response to a solicitation.
10.	Does applying entity have any financial history, and received less than $50,000 in charitable
contributions (as defined in N. C. Gen. Stat. § 131F-2(5)) in the immediate preceding fiscal year?

YES, submit ONE of the following financial Forms, a, b c or d with appropriate signatures. If
NO, submit a licensure application:
	
a. IRS Forms 990-N, 990 EZ or 990 signed by an officer of the organization.


b. A copy of the message confirming its submission of the Internal Revenue Service Form 990-N.


c. A copy of its budget for the current year that was approved by its governing board and that includes projected revenue and projected expenses.


d. The NC Annual Financial Report Form (available for downloading at www.sosnc.gov).

	


11.
	



Has applying entity received a Federal Tax Exemption Determination Letter?

	Attach a copy of the Federal Tax Exemption Determination Letter. (This is not required; however, if not received the organization will be listed as a “Non-Tax Exempt Entity” as described in Section
.0305(d), Chapter 11 of Title 18 of the North Carolina Administrative Code)

	
	
	YES
	

	
	
	

NO
	

	
NOTE: This registration must be updated on an annual basis.

	(Signature of an Officer of the applying organization)
	(Print Name & Title)

	(Completion Date)
	


