North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State

NEWS

July 17, 2023 For Immediate Release

Contact: Tim Crowley (919) 814-5342 Liz Proctor (919) 814-5341 **Elaine F. Marshall Secretary of State**

Secretary Marshall Honored for a Lifetime of Achievement by NASS Notary Section

RALEIGH – The Notary Public Administrators (NPA) Section of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) presented Secretary Elaine F. Marshall and former North Dakota Secretary of State Al Jaeger with the first annual NPA Achievement Award at NASS's Summer Conference last week. In addition to being the inaugural award recipients, the Award has also been named in honor of Secretaries Marshall and Jaeger.

The award was presented during the NASS Conference by NPA President Mike Smith. "Given the essential role that Secretary Marshall and former Secretary Jaeger played in the creation of the NPA Section – and their continued guidance and support over the past 25 years – it is so appropriate that the newly-created NPA Achievement Award will be forever known as the *Jaeger-Marshall NPA Achievement Award*. I can't speak highly enough about Secretary Marshall. She's been a mentor to me and continues to be a leader among Secretaries of State. She's a titan of the industry and is passionate about advancing the role of notaries public."

Secretaries Marshall and Jaeger led the National E-notarization Commission in 2006 that put forth the first electronic notary standards. Those standards paved the way for states to move into the electronic notarization space, and have been in effect with only slight modifications ever since.

"It's an honor to be presented with this award alongside my former colleague, Secretary Jaeger. And it's an even bigger honor to have this award in our names. Notary regulation and the professional development of notaries is a cornerstone of assuring the integrity of vital documents and protecting consumers, so this award is a great way of celebrating leadership among notary public administrators each year," said Secretary Marshall.

The Notary Public Administrators Section created the Jaeger-Marshall NPA Achievement Award this year to give special recognition each year to those whose expertise, support and vision have contributed to the betterment of the NPA Section and the entire notary industry. The NPA Section was founded in 1998 to grow the professional support that was then flourishing among state notary public administrators.

Secretary Marshall also was sworn in to the NASS Executive Board to represent Notary Public Administrators and she will co-chair NASS's Securities Committee with Indiana Secretary of State Diego Morales. Officers will all serve until the conclusion of the NASS 2024 Summer Conference.



Secretary Marshall and former Secretary Al Jaeger during Wednesday's award presentation. (photo courtesy of Philip Smith, 1L Photo)

-30-