Membership Campground Act
Frequently Asked Questions
N. C. G.S. Article 31, Chapter 66

Here are some answers to questions we receive frequently from the public about the
Membership Campground Act. We provide this for informational purposes only. It does not
constitute legal advice.

1. Where can | get registration forms?

2. Who has to register under the membership campground law?

3. Is there anyone who doesn’t have to register?

4. Where does my campground have to be located?

5. How long will it take you to process my application?

6. How long does my registration last?

7. How often should | renew?

8. How much does it cost to register?

9. When do | have to pay the fee?

10. Is there a deadline for renewing my registration?

11. Will you send me a reminder when it’s time to renew my registration?

12. How long will it take you to process my application?

13. What do | have to do to register?

14. | want to cancel my registration. What do | have to do?

15. How do | contact you or submit a document?
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1. Where can | get registration forms?

You can call or email Wendy Haynes:

Telephone: 919-807-2156


http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_66/Article_31.pdf

Email address: whaynes@sosnc.com

2. Who has to register under the membership campground law?
There are 2 different kinds of registrations.

a. Membership campground operator: You have to register as a membership
campground operator if you:

(1) Own a campground and offer or sell membership contracts for it, or
(2) Operate a campground and offer or sell membership contracts for it.

b. Membership campground salesperson: You have to register as a membership
campground salesperson if:

(1) You’re not a campground operator, and
(2) You make a direct sales presentation and offer to sell someone a membership
campground contract.
3. Is there anyone who doesn’t have to register?
Yes, there are some exceptions for both types of registration.
a. Membership campground operator. You don’t have to register if you:
(1) Are a government agency.
(2) Are a mobile home park where:
i.  People have their primary homes; or

ii. People have leased or bought a lot for their own use.

(3) Are tax exempt under Section 501(c)(3) of federal tax law. Click here to go to
the IRS website and find out more about this exemption.

(4) Are tax exempt under North Carolina law. Click here to go to N.C.G.S. §105-
164.13(35) to see the sales and use statute for nonprofit corporations.

b. Membership campground salesperson. You don’t have to register if all you do is:
(1) Refer a possible buyer to a campground salesperson, and

(2) You don’t make a direct sales presentation to the possible buyer.


mailto:whaynes@sosnc.com
http://www.irs.gov/Charities-&-Non-Profits
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_105/GS_105-164.13.pdf

Where does my campground have to be located?

The campground must be located in North Carolina.

How long will it take you to process my application?

Within 30 days after we get the complete application from you, we’ll let you know if it’s
ok. We'll tell you if it’s accepted or rejected. If we reject your application, we’ll tell you
why.

How long does my registration last?

Registration is for one year and is renewed each year.

How often should | renew?

You should renew each year within 30 days of the registration date.

How much does it cost to register?

If you’re a membership campground operator, your fees are:

Registration Amount

Initial registration as membership campground operator $1500.00

Renewal of registration as membership campground operator $1000.00

If you’re a membership campground salesperson, your fees are:

Registration Amount
Initial registration as a salesperson $10.00
Renewal of registration as a salesperson $10.00

When do | have to pay the fee?

You have to include the fee with your application for registration or renewal. If you don’t
include it, your application won’t be complete and we won’t be able to process it.
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11.

12.

13.

Is there a deadline for renewing my registration?

Yes, there’s a deadline that’s based on your registration date. You can find the date on
our letter approving your registration. The renewal deadline is one year from that date.

File the renewal application at least 30 days before the renewal deadline. .

An example: We approve your initial application on August 31" this year. Next year,

you’ll need to send us your renewal application by July 31% for it to be timely.

Will you send me a reminder when it’s time to renew my registration?

No, we don’t send out reminder notices. If you’re not sure what your deadline is:

a. Look at the letter we sent you when we approved your application. The date on that
letter is your registration date. You use that date to figure out when you have to file
your renewal application.

b. If you can’t find the letter or need other help, call or email Wendy Haynes:

Telephone No.: 919-807-2156
Email address: whaynes@sosnc.com

How long will it take you to process my application?

It typically takes us 2-3 business days to process an application. In any case, within 30

days after we get the complete application from you, we'll let you know if it’s ok. We’'ll
tell you if it’s accepted or rejected. If we reject your application, we’ll tell you why.
What do | have to do to register?

There are several things you have to do to register. Some of them are complicated
enough that you may want to consult a lawyer to help you go through them. The steps

include:

a. Preliminary things like: find a campground location. Make sure you have the legal
right to use it for a campground.

b. Complete the application form. Click here to go to the forms.

c. Make sure that you have all the attachments to include when you send in your
application. Some of the required attachments are:


mailto:whaynes@sosnc.com

(1) A certified copy of the legal document giving you the right to use the location for a
campground.

(2) A sample of the documents the membership buyer will either get from you or have
to sign. These include things like:

i. The contract or agreement the buyer will have to sign;
ii. The documents the buyer will get when the contract’s executed;

iii. A copy of a statement disclosing certain required information to the
prospective buyer.

d. Send the completed application to us. You must include the registration fee when you
send the application to us.
14. | want to cancel my registration. What do | have to do?

a. You have to notify us. There’s not a form for this, so just send us a letter on your
letterhead.

b. You may also have other things you have to do, such as notify the members of your

membership campground. You may want to consult a lawyer to be sure you do
everything you need to.

15. How do | contact you or submit a document?

Telephone 919-807-2156

E-mail whaynes@sosnc.com
NC Department of the Secretary of State
ATTN: Membership Campground
PO Box 29622
Raleigh, NC 27626-0622
NC Department of the Secretary of State
Hand Delivery or | ATTN: Membership Campground
Delivery Service | 2 South Salisbury Street
Raleigh, NC 27601

US Postal Service
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